Erasmus+ ECTS Information

The European Credit Transfer System

currently used by over 200 universities participating in the program, facilitate the academic recognition of periods of study undertaken by students in different countries.

According to this system:
  • there are assigned credits to each discipline;
  • a full academic year is equivalent to 60 credits;
  • before the student’s departure in a mobility a contract is signed by the two institutions and by the student, called `Learning Agreement`. The agreement consists of the study program the student will attend at the host institution and specifies the number of credits assigned to each discipline. At the end of the study period the `Transcript of Records` is added to the initial signed contract.

When arriving at the host university, due to unforeseen circumstances (timetable incompatibilities, the content or inadequate level of the chosen disciplines, finding more appropriate courses, etc.), the student may need to modify his/her agreed study program. The study contract foresees this possibility, but the modifications must be done as soon as possible after the arrival at the host university. The newly agreed modifications to the Learning Agreement must be counter-signed by the student and the coordinators of both universities. When returning from the mobility, the sending university recognizes the number of credits obtained by the student at the host university, based on the `Transcript of Records` which the student receives from the host university for the courses he successfully passed.

Within the framework of this action the universities may require support to develop the application of ECTS within the departments in which this system has not yet been used.

The granted funds are used to produce and disseminate informational materials regarding ECTS and also to organize curses for ECTS implementation.

Back to Top